NI-1 UNIT-1

ACTIVITY 1

COMPLAINING:

HOW TO COMPLAIN:

Excuse me, I have a complaint to make.

I’m sorry to trouble you, but…

I’m afraid the air conditioning doesn’t seem to work.

Excuse me, there seems to be a problem with…

ACCEPTING A COMPLAINT

I’m very sorry. We’ll see to it right away.

I’m sorry. Leave it with me and I’ll solve the problem.

I’m afraid I can’t help you at the moment.

I’m afraid there’s nothing we can do at the moment.

ACTIVITY 2

“PREFER AND RATHER”

WOULD RATHER/PREFER TO

Would you “rather/prefer to” survey

1. Would you rather eat cake, ice cream, or a piece of chocolate right now? Sample answer… “I would rather have ice cream now, because it’s hot outside and I just like ice cream better than cake and chocolate.  What about you? What would you rather have?”

2. Would you prefer to live in a big city or in a small town near the sea?

3. Would you rather live in Cairo, Damascus, or Beirut?

4. Would you prefer to spend a year in Japan, Switzerland, or the USA?

5. Would you rather take a vacation in South America or Africa?

6. Would you rather be invisible whenever you wanted or have the ability to fly?

7. Would you prefer to have coffee, tea, or juice at the moment?

8. Would you prefer tor take a course in Chinese, Swahili, Italian, or Hindi?

9. Would you rather know Japanese, Spanish, or German?

10. What would you prefer tor be doing right now (than sitting here in class)?

PREFER

1) Do you prefer paper dictionaries or online / electronic dictionaries?
2) What topics do you prefer to talk about in class and which do you prefer to not talk about?
3) Do you prefer talking with the person next to you in class or moving around and talking to different students?
4) Do you prefer male or female teachers?
5) Do you prefer your teacher explaining grammar on the board or working it out for yourself?
6) Have you ever told your teacher what you prefer doing in class?
7) What things do you think your teacher might prefer to do differently in class?
8) What are the differences between ‘prefer’ and ‘would rather’?
9) Would you prefer to have more, less or no homework?
10) What would you prefer to do instead of having this discussion?

ACTIVITY 3

WEATHER

WEATHER LINKS

Ex-1   Ex-2    Ex-3     Ex-4      Ex-5

This entry was posted in NI-1 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

