NI-2 UNIT-1

ACTIVITY 1

SECOND CONDITIONAL. MAKE A SENTENCE WITH THE FOLLOWING:

Eg. If you came from Romania, you’d eat Sarmale.

ACTIVITY 2

FILL IN THE GAPS

FORM:

If + past simple – modal (would, could, might) + infinitive

Example: If you called him, he would come.

USE:

  • Conditions which are improbable or impossible in the present or future.
  • To make polite requests or suggestions.

1. Put the verbs into the correct form to make second conditionals.

  1. If it rained, I ___________ (stay) at home..
  2. You would get better if you ___________(not/eat) so much.
  3. If dinner wasn´t ready, I ___________(go) without it.
  4. If he ___________ (be) tired, he would go to bed.
  5. He ___________ (earn) a lot of money if he ___________(work) harder.
  6. If he ___________(be) more intelligent, he ___________(not/ make) that choice.
  7. If you ___________(push) her, she ___________(be) furious.
  8. What ___________(happen) if we ___________(lose) the map?
  9. What ___________(you/do) if you ___________(find) a watch in the street?
  10. What ___________(he/buy) if he ___________(be) very rich?
  11. If I ___________(be) you, I ___________(wear) a raincoat.
  12. If I ___________(get) a lot of Money, I ___________(not/ work) any more.
  13. If the house ___________(have) central heating, it ___________(not/ be) so cold.
  14. ___________(it/ not/ be) awful if we ___________ (be caught)?
  15. We ___________(get)better seats if we ___________(book)
  16. If I ___________(be) you, I ___________(get) a full-time job.
  17. If I ___________(find) your glasses, I ___________(bring) them to you.
  18. They ___________(be) very angry if we ___________(not/go) to their party.
  19. She ___________(not/ lend) me the dictionary if I ___________(ask) her.
  20. If ___________(not/ there to be) much traffic, I ___________(get) home earlier.

ACTIVITY 3

COMPLAINTS

HAVE A CONVERSATION WITH YOUR PARTNER USING THE FOLLOWING IDEAS. ONE OF YOU COMPLAINS AND THE OTHER ANSWERS.

LINKS

Second Conditional

http://web2.uvcs.uvic.ca/elc/studyzone/410/grammar/2cond.htm

Practice

http://web2.uvcs.uvic.ca/elc/studyzone/410/grammar/2cond1.htm

http://web2.uvcs.uvic.ca/elc/studyzone/410/grammar/2cond2.htm

http://www.englishgrammarsecrets.com/secondconditional/menu.php

This entry was posted in NI-2 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NI-2 UNIT-1

  1. Francisca Romero Lucas says:

    Thank you very much. I think this is a very usefull page. It will help me a lot. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

