NI-2 UNIT-3

ACTIVITY 1

PRONUNCIATION TIPS:

                                                          Schwa – can be any vowel or dipthong. Can be any relaxed vowel and particularly, grammar word in connected speech.

Egs. America, umbrella, famous, teacher, second, ago

All the words in bold in the following sentence are pronounced with Schwa:

I can swim but I can’t ride a bike for the life of me.

/e/

USUAL SPELLING:

e yes, help,ten, pet, very, red
but also riend, breakfast, bread, any, said

/3:/

USUAL SPELLING:

usually “ir” “ur”

“er”

bird girl first thirdturn burn purse

her verb stern

but also “ear” / “or” learn work word world earn

 

ACTIVITY 2

VERBAL STRATEGIES – USING A DESCRIPTION WHEN YOU DON’T KNOW THE RIGHT WORD:

It looks (a bit/rather) like a…. but it’s got/hasn’t got……

It’s a type/kind/sort of….

It’s (usually/often/frequently) made of…

It’s used for + -ing/It’s used to + bare infinitive…..

It’s something that…

It’s how/what you feel when/if/whenever….

It’s what you/people do when…

It’s a person that/who…

It’s what happens when…

Try to describe the following words to your partner. He/She has to guess what you are talking about. DO NOT USE THE WORD IN ANY FORM IN THE DESCRIPTION!

STUDENT A STUDENT B
NEIGHBOURHOOD GNAW
SKIN (NOUN) DISCRIMINATE
DEPRIVED BAN
ALIENATED OVERCROWDED
LIPSTICK RENT (NOUN)
BRIDGE WHISTLE (noun)
MARRY RECRUIT (verb)

ACTIVITY 3

TALKING ABOUT THE FUTURE:

FUTURE TENSES:

present simple for timetables – The train leaves at 3 o’clock. (It’s 12 o’clock now.)

present continuous for plans – I’m playing tennis with Steve this afternoon. With a time expression. (He and I have arranged to meet.)

“going to” future for intentions – I’m going to study journalism when I leave school. (I don’t have a place at University, but I’d like to.)

“will” future for predictions and promises – Tomorrow it’ll rain all day. I’ll phone you this evening.

HAVE A CHAT WITH YOUR PARTNER ABOUT WHAT YOU’LL DO … ARE DOING … ARE GOING TO DO…. IN THE FUTURE.

TRY TO USE A VARIETY OF TENSES. YOU DON’T ALWAYS HAVE TO ANSWER WITH THE SAME TENSE AS THE QUESTION.

Eg.

What are you doing tomorrow?

I’m not sure, my boyfriend’s going away for the weekend, so I’ll probably go shopping

ACTIVITY 4

COMPOUNDS OF SOME, ANY, NO, EVERY

KEY:

1. somebody    2. nothing    3. something    4. everything

5. No one     6. somebody    7. anywhere    8. everywhere

KEY:

1. something   2. somebody   3. anything   4. anywhere   5. somebody

6. anybody   7. something   8. something   9. somebody   10. anything

KEY: somewhere/ everywhere/nobody/anywhere/something/anybody

1. anybody/nobody   2. everywhere   3. nothing/everything/anywhere

4. anywhere/nowhere   5. anything/something

ACTIVITY 5

EXPRESSING SYMPATHY AND INDIFFERENCE

WAYS TO EXPRESS INDIFFERENCE OR INTEREST ABOUT WHAT SOMEBODY IS TELLING YOU.

WATCH OUT! BE CAREFUL – SOME OF THESE EXPRESSIONS, WHILE COMMON, ARE CONSIDERED EXTREMELY IMPOLITE!!! IT IS RUDE IN  ITSELF TO NOT BE INTERESTED IN WHAT SOMEBODY IS TAKING THE TROUBLE TO TELL YOU!!!!!

INDIFFERENCE SYMPATHY/ DELIGHT
I don’t care. (IMPOLITE)
I couldn’t care less. (IMPOLITE)

I couldn’t give a hoot. (IMPOLITE)

It doesn’t matter.

It doesn’t matter to me.(IMPOLITE)

Hard cheese! (IMPOLITE)

Oh, really. (Uninterested, sarcastic intonation) (IMPOLITE)

So what? (IMPOLITE)

Who cares? (IMPOLITE)

I don’t give a damn/toss/f—k! (IMPOLITE/RUDE!!)

I don’t mind (at all).I’m glad (to hear it/ about that).

I’m delighted.

Oh, really! (Interested intonation)

That is great/fantastic, etc

Wow!

Yippee!

SAY THINGS TO YOUR PARTNER THAT YOU THINK MIGHT INTEREST HIM/HER. YOUR PARTNER MUST RESPOND WITH SYMPATHY OR INDIFFERENCE.

HERE ARE SOME EXAMPLES:

Do you realise the general elections are just around the corner?

Ouch! I’ve broken a nail!

My dad’s just been fired.

I won €100,000 in the lottery last week.

Could we turn the heating up a bit, please?

Next week there’ll be no English class.

I think I’m going to get myself a tatoo. What do you think?

This entry was posted in NI-2. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

