NI-1 UNIT-4

ACTIVITY 1

EXPRESSING PROBABILITY AND DEDUCTION – MODAL VERBS

may/might/may not/might not

could (take care with intonation)

Perhaps + will

will + probably/ probably won’t (take care with word order!)

must .v. Can’t for deduction

ACTIVITY 2

PLAY GUESS MY JOB – PHOTOCOPY AND CUT OUT

Play in pairs. Place the cards in a pile face down. One student at a time picks a card, and describes the job given. He/She can’t use any of the words from the card. The other student should use modal verbs to deduce what the job is. Eg. Student A: I sometimes have to go to war.

Student B: You might be a fighter pilot.

Student A: I do not have a special rank.

Student B: You must be a soldier.

Student A: Yes, that’s right!

MILKMAN

  • Milk
  • Deliver
  • Door

BUTCHER

  • Meat
  • Sell
  • Kill

PHOTOGRAPHER

  • Camera
  • Pictures
  • Magazine

SOLDIER

  • Gun
  • Uniform
  • Army

ARCHITECT

  • Design
  • Building
  • Office

PAINTER

  • Fame
  • Paint
  • Brush

PIANIST

  • Piano
  • Play
  • Music

FISHERMAN

  • Fish
  • Boat
  • Catch

WRITER

  • Book
  • Story
  • Write

DOCTOR

  • Hospital
  • Nurse
  • Sick

LAWYER

  • Law
  • Legal
  • Court

NEWSCASTER

  • TV
  • News
  • Present

SCIENTIST

  • Lab
  • Experiment
  • Uniform

SWIMMER

  • Swimming pool
  • Swimsuit
  • Sport

RACING DRIVER

  • Fast
  • Car
  • Drive

BUS DRIVER

  • Bus
  • Drive
  • Ticket

ACTIVITY 3

NOUNS USED AS ADJECTIVES

KEY: CLICK HERE TO SEE ONLINE ACTIVITY + ANSWERS

LINKS

ENGLISH ZONE

RHL SCHOOL

ACTIVITY 4

EXPRESSING AGREEMENT

I QUITE AGREE, YOU’RE RIGHT,

I DON’T QUITE AGREE, I DON’T THINK YOU’RE RIGHT

Expressing agreement Expressing disagreement
  • I quite agree.
  • You’re right
  • I agree with you 100 percent.
  • I couldn’t agree with you more.
  • That’s so true.
  • That’s for sure.
  • You’re absolutely right.
  • Absolutely.
  • That’s exactly how I feel.
  • Exactly.
  • I’m afraid I agree with James.
  • I have to side with Dad on this one.
  • No doubt about it.
  • (agree with negative statement) Me neither.
  • (weak) I suppose so./I guess so.
  • You have a point there.
  • I was just going to say that.
  • I don’t quite agree.
  • I don’t think you’re right.
  • I don’t think so.
  • (strong) No way.
  • I’m afraid I disagree.
  • (strong) I totally disagree.
  • I beg to differ.
  • (strong) I’d say the exact opposite.
  • Not necessarily.
  • That’s not always true.
  • That’s not always the case.
  • No, I’m not so sure about that.

Conversation practice

  • Making mistakes in English is OK as long as people understand you.
  • My friends should come from the same social background as I do.
  • It is impossible to have a happy family life and a successful career.
  • War is not an option for solving international disputes.
  • Multinational global corporations are to blame for most problems in the world today.
  • Women will never be equal to men in the workplace.
  • Marriage is outdated. There is no need for state or church approval or recognition of a partnership.
  • Gay marriage is wrong.
  • The death penalty is acceptable in some cases.
  • Celebrities earn too much money.
  • Foreigners should not be allowed to vote.
  • The government is responsible for making sure that all citizens of a country have at least a minimum living wage job.
  • Quality of life will greatly improve in the future.
  • Teachers give too much homework.
  • Military service should be obligatory.

ALSO SEE STEREOTYPES -ACTIVITY 5

ACTIVITY 5

This entry was posted in NI-1 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to NI-1 UNIT-4

  1. Aire says:

    Thank You for your help!

Leave a Reply

