NB-1 UNIT-5

ACTIVITY 1

ADVERBS AND EXPRESSIONS OF FREQUENCY

POSITION

Ejemplos:

I always go to school by bus.
Siempre voy a la escuela en autobús.

I usually get up at 7.
Usualmente me despierto a las 7.

I often / frequently watch TV in the evening.
Frecuentemente miro TV por la noche.

I sometimes have lunch in a restaurant.
A veces almuerzo en un restaurant.

I seldom have breakfast.
Rara vez tomo el desayuno.

I never arrive late.
Nunca llego tarde.

***** I AM NEVER LATE FOR CLASS ****** AFTER VERB “BE”
OTHER EXPRESSIONS GO AT THE BEGINNING OR END OF THE VERB PHRASE

Everyday I have homework./ I have homework everyday
Todos los días tengo tareas.

Every Monday I have gym./ I have gym every Monday. /I have gym on Mondays
Todos los lunes tengo gimnasia.

Once a month I have a test.
Una vez por mes tengo examen.

Twice a month I have a test.
Dos veces por mes tengo examen.

Three times a month I have a test.
Tres veces por mes tengo examen.

I play tennis once a week.
Juego al tenis una vez por semana.

I play tennis twice a week.
Juego al tenis dos veces por semana.

I play tennis three times a week.
Juego al tenis tres veces por semana.

Para preguntar a alguien con qué frecuencia realiza algo, se usa How often.

How often do you have gym classes?
¿Con qué frecuencia tienes clases de gimnasia?

I have gym classes every Monday.
Tengo clases de gimnasia los lunes.

ACTIVITY 2

READ THE DEFINITION TO YOUR PARTNER. YOUR PARTNER GUESSES THE JOB.

ACTIVITY 3

HOW OFTEN DO YOU…..?

CRY…..SMILE…..LAUGH…….ARGUE……..DO SOME EXERCISE…..TELL LIES…..

READ A BOOK …….CLEAN THE HOUSE…….STAY UP ALL NIGHT……..DRIVE TOO FAST…

DRINK CHAMPAGNE……GO TO THE CINEMA…….SPEND TOO MUCH MONEY…….

and anything else you would like to ask your partner.

ACTIVITY 4

JOBMATCH – ASK QUESTIONS ABOUT THE FOLLOWING PEOPLE AND JOBS

get up at 5 am

go to work at 6 am

go home at 2 pm

post office

boring and …..

weekends free

don’t like – bad weather

like – getting exercise

POSTWOMAN

get up at 5 am

go to work at 5.30 am

go home at 7 pm

hard and …..

day off = Sunday

don’t like – working with animals

like – working outside

FARM WORKERget up at 7.30 am

go to work at 8.30 am

go home at 4 pm

school

interesting and …..

long holidays

don’t like – correcting exams

like – children

TEACHERget up at 8 am

go to work at 2 pm

go home at 10 pm

hospital

tiring and …..

1 day off a week

don’t like – emergencies

like – working with people

NURSEget up at 1 pm

go to work at 7 pm

go home at 4 am

nightclub

fun and …..

Days off Mon – Thurs

don’t like – travelling in a minibus

like – applause

SINGERget up at 3 pm

go to work at 10 pm

go home at 6 am

production line

tedious and …..

Day off = Sunday

don’t like – repetitive actions

like – workmates

FACTORY WORKER

LINKS

ACTIVITY 5

WORK WITH SOMEONE WHO HAS A JOB

HAVE A CONVERSATION LIKE THIS ONE:

Talking About Your Job

Jack: Hi (Peter). Can you tell me a little bit about your current job?

Peter: Certainly What would you like to know?
Jack: First of all, what do you work as?

Peter: I work as a …………………….. at ……………………..
Jack: What do your responsibilities include?

Peter: I’m responsible for ………………………
Jack: What sort of problems do you deal with on a day-to-do basis?

Peter: Oh, ……………………..
Jack: What else does your job involve?

Peter: Well, ……………………..
Jack: Do you ever attend meetings?

Peter: Yes/No ……………………..
Jack: Thanks for all the information, Peter. It sounds like you have an interesting job.

Peter: Yes, it’s very interesting, but …………………….., too!

ACTIVITY 6

MORE CONVERSATION QUESTIONS:

Work and Employment

Where do you work and what is your current position? How long do you plan to continue working where you are?
Do you have to work overtime? If so, how often? How many days a week do you normally have to work? Is this usual in your country?
Do you like your job? Why? Why not? Is promotion important to you?
What jobs in your country are considered to be good jobs? Why? What is your dream job? Why?
Are you a workaholic? How do you feel about your boss? How do you think he/she feels about you?
What do you think, is the worst job in the world?

LINKS

FREQUENCY ADVERBS

http://www.miguelmllop.com/practice/beginners/grammar/frequencyadverbs1.htm

ADVERBS AND EXPRESSIONS OF FREQUENCY

POSITION

Ejemplos:

I always go to school by bus.
Siempre voy a la escuela en autobús.

I usually get up at 7.
Usualmente me despierto a las 7.

I often / frequently watch TV in the evening.
Frecuentemente miro TV por la noche.

I sometimes have lunch in a restaurant.
A veces almuerzo en un restaurant.

I seldom have breakfast.
Rara vez tomo el desayuno.

I never arrive late.
Nunca llego tarde.

***** I AM NEVER LATE FOR CLASS ****** AFTER VERB “BE”

OTHER EXPRESSIONS GO AT THE BEGINNING OR END OF THE VERB PHRASE

Everyday I have homework./ I have homework everyday
Todos los días tengo tareas.

Every Monday I have gym./ I have gym every Monday. /I have gym on Mondays
Todos los lunes tengo gimnasia.

Once a month I have a test.
Una vez por mes tengo examen.

Twice a month I have a test.
Dos veces por mes tengo examen.

Three times a month I have a test.
Tres veces por mes tengo examen.

I play tennis once a week.
Juego al tenis una vez por semana.

I play tennis twice a week.
Juego al tenis dos veces por semana.

I play tennis three times a week.
Juego al tenis tres veces por semana.

Para preguntar a alguien con qué frecuencia realiza algo, se usa How often.

How often do you have gym classes?
¿Con qué frecuencia tienes clases de gimnasia?

I have gym classes every Monday.
Tengo clases de gimnasia los lunes.

This entry was posted in NB-1 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

